Draft – Assignment 2

Here I present my current draft ideas for assignment 2 of EDC3100

Constructing

Earth and space sciences

Earth’s rotation on its axis causes regular changes, including night and day (ACSSU048)

 

Transforming

Communicating

Represent and communicate observations, ideas and findings using formal and informal representations (ACSIS060)

And if it doesn’t crowd the unit plan too much, this as well.

Processing and analysing data and information

Use a range of methods including tables and simple column graphs to represent data and to identify patterns and trends (ACSIS057)

Learning Objective/Criteria Matching

I think I have managed to confuse myself if I am either matching content descriptions or the elaborations of the content description. I went with just the content description as I haven’t worked out any specific elaborations to go with at this stage. Hope I am in the ball park at least!

  • Earth’s rotation on its axis causes regular changes, including night and day (ACSSU048)

Understanding dimension/Science Understanding (QCAA)

  • Represent and communicate observations, ideas and findings using formal and informal representations (ACSIS060)

Skills dimension/Communicating (QCAA)

  • Use a range of methods including tables and simple column graphs to represent data and to identify patterns and trends (ACSIS057)

Skills dimension/Processing and analysing data and information (QCAA)

My initial plan is to potentially focus on misconceptions such as the sun goes away at night time and the sun revolves around the Earth. I would also like to include a way for the students to record observations of the sun/shadow positions across a 24 hour time period then communicate the environmental experiences of a student’s 24-hr day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Draft – Assignment 2

  1. kerrylee says:

    Hello Jac,
    Sorry, I have been attempting to be offline over the holidays so have been unable to respond to your question. I have recently started to think on how I can ‘transform’ the learning in my unit plan. However, at this stage my ideas are still in their infancy I am afraid. I would like to tackle it from a senses aspect. Exploring space in a way otherwise deemed impossible without the incorporation of technology. I am crossing my fingers that there will be some good apps where students can view the earth in a 24-hour rotation and observe the changes. As I said still early days, hopefully it all falls into place very soon!.
    K.L 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Assignment 2: Drafting ideas #draftUow #Year2 #History | My Journey plugging into ICT

  3. Pingback: Assignment 2 – Already? | crbruggemann

  4. Hi Kerry,
    Thank you for sharing this.
    Have you thought about the ICT you will use and how you will “transform” the learning? I seem to be overly focused on this and cannot move forward, and I was wondering how you were progressing.
    Jac xxx

    Like

Leave a comment