End of Prac

Practicum experience ended for me on Tuesday. Now that I am back into assignment mode it almost feels like a distant memory. This last prac has been one of my favourites. I finally felt like a real teacher and not a fraud. It was such a positive experience. My mentor gave me loads of teaching time and was incredibly supportive. She has offered for me to return for my internship and has made a recommendation for my employment once I finish my degree (not till the end of 2017).

I currently find myself almost depressed going from the high of spending three weeks doing what I love, back to assignments. Let’s just say the relationship isn’t quite so loving! The uni/real life experience never seems to truly blend for me. I can see how the theories and thinking help’s to shape my future practice, but in reality I have never learned so much about teaching as when I actually teach.

Why is a teaching degree not apprenticed? The mind boggles. In university, we are taught that learning through experience is ideal, and yet uni life offers so little experience in the classroom. In small chunks yes, but we never see the start of a new year or watch students develop over a long period of time (3-4 weeks really isn’t enough time to track the growth of a learner), or see the nitty gritty last minute panic at the end of a term or year. I feel teaching in the real world  is going to hold many surprises yet!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to End of Prac

  1. You are quite right, 3 weeks is no where near long enough. I am glad and jealous of your amazing experience – mine too was excellent, but I did not experience anywhere near the level of success as you did…though when I did my full day of teaching the class swam along well, and I did actually feel like maybe I can do this! There were many times though where I thought “What the hollow tree am I doing…”, but I kept plodding along and I got through. Congratulations on doing so well!!
    Jac xxx

    Like

Leave a comment